Skip to main content

Cancelling an event or session time

Having to cancel an event or session can be disappointing, especially when circumstances beyond your control, such as severe weather or performer illness, leave you with little choice.

To help make a difficult situation easier to manage, TryBooking allows you to cancel events or individual sessions, notify affected ticket buyers and prevent further ticket sales.
​


How to cancel a session time

To cancel a particular Session Time:

  1. From the Dashboard, under Manage events overview, click on the name of the event

  2. On the left menu, select Basic Information, then Session Times

  3. Click Edit next to the session you wish to cancel

  4. Click on the Additional Settings tab

  5. In the Status field, select Cancelled

  6. Click Save

  7. Click Cancel Session on the confirmation pop-up

Should your session have already taken bookings:

We recommend using the Email Buyers feature to notify affected customers of the cancellation, explain the next steps and minimise any confusion.

You can also process customer refunds directly through TryBooking, making it easier to manage the cancellation.

To refund your customers:

  1. From the Dashboard, select Booking & Refunds, then Refunds

  2. Select your event in the Filter by event field

  3. Select bookings and click Refunds

Once a session has been cancelled, you cannot move a booking to this session time.


How to cancel an event

To cancel whole event:

  1. From the Dashboard, under Manage events overview, click on the name of the event

  2. In the top left, under the Preview Event button, click on the status

  3. Select Cancel Event from the drop-down

  4. Click Yes on the confirmation pop-up

With the event cancelled, it will update to reflect cancelled on both the portal and booking page.
​
​Portal:
​

Booking Pages:
​

Did this answer your question?